“Day by Day’… thank you, Edwin Hawkins Singers

The days roll by slowly now. I had thought they might fly by. That doesn’t seem to be the case.

Today my apartment manager came by to tell me to leave my keys with my aunt. She wanted to know when I would be leaving. She also took photos of the apartment to publicize it. I had to scurry around to straighten things up. Even though I am an organized, immaculate person, the place had fallen into a bit of a mess because I’ve been on the go for the past several months.

After a breakfast of scrambled eggs and ham, cappuccino, a banana and a glass of milk, I was off to the health club. I’m paid through November 10 so I want to get my money’s worth while I’m here. Lord knows I couldn’t use it when I was playing tour guide or visiting Tuscany. And I won’t be using it during the week I’m in Egypt.

Pretty much everything is up to date, although I still need to contact the utility company about my final invoice. The day before I leave I will blitz the apartment to make sure everything is clean and organized for the next renter. I will gradually pack up items, firstly those that I won’t be using prior to my departure. I don’t want to be rushing around my last two days here. I will want to just walk around the town and take a last look at everything.

And as I sit here listening to the Eagles’ The Long Run, I find myself looking back. When I read past postings I see the changes, I re-live the experiences. I just wish that I could remember them all the time. But I can’t. No one can. Life is too hectic nowadays to remember much of anything except what needs to be done tomorrow.

The past year has been chock full of experiences, relationships, cognizance. And I find that I’ve forgotten so much. The next day always seemed to have something else to observe and absorb. How can one remember everything when every day there is another historical site, another incredible meal, another one of a thousand experiences to witness? I suppose I have conveniently tucked away most of my memories and experiences for future enjoyment and consideration.

One of the problems of living as an expatriate is that even the nuances and mundanities of life can be overshadowed by the larger occurrences. And sometimes it’s the nuances and mundane items in life that hold the most to learn. Every minute cannot be a mountaintop experience.

Of course, when living overseas, initially those nuances are a mountaintop experience because they’re so new. And they’re interesting. And as one walks around, they seem to be everywhere and they can overwhelm. Something as simple as watching how people respond to ordinary things grabs one’s attention and becomes fascinating.

I feel like I’m babbling. Those two previous paragraphs sound kinda “out there”. Maybe it’s because The Long Run has morphed into Hotel California and I’m singing along in my head.

It just goes back to my desire to cling to every moment, no matter how insignificant. I feel a sense of urgency to savor my remaining time. Did I savor enough previously? I don’t know. I want to make up for any lost time if I didn’t focus enough on my previous experiences. It’s like I’m in a hurry to experience.

And I’ll have the time. I will be going to Ascoli Piceno and indulging in olive d’ Ascolana to the point of bursting. I’ll probably find myself staring at my cousins and my aunt and uncle, drinking in every aspect of their existence to emblazon it on my mind.

I still have my upcoming week in Egypt to enjoy. Even though it will sort of interrupt my desire to kick back and savor, it will still be a dream experience. I just wish my ex could be there with me because his presence would make the entire trip unforgettable.

Of course, the job search is of paramount importance. Now that Alba Adriatica has rolled up its sidewalks until May of 2016, there is not a whole lot to do. With few real responsibilities, I can focus on my resumes and cover letters and put together a plan of action for my job search when I return.

I suppose with each day I will get a bit antsy. I know that whenever I’ve traveled in the past, as the time to leave drew near, I began checking out mentally and preparing myself for my return. I’ve been checking out gradually over the past couple of weeks.

I’m anxious to be home again.

“I live in Oregon. Oregon’s my home”.

Leave a Reply

