Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, good night”–thank you, Von Trapp children

Short post tonight. Everything is packed. All errands and responsibilities finished. Got my euros. Attorney has my car. Saw the chiropractor three times and spoke to my insurance carrier. Put the last three boxes into storage. Ate myself silly at breakfasts after lunches after dinners as friends said goodbye. Got some meds for my severe back pain. I figure a Valium with a Scotch will help me sleep on the plane.

It has finally hit me right between the eyes. I’m leaving Oregon. I’m going to Italy. I only know part of what awaits me. Yet, despite the tiny bit of desire to remain, along with the gargantuan love I have for everyone I’m leaving behind, I have no doubts. I’m at peace. I’m not looking forward to the flight, especially since Mother Nature suddenly hit her period.

A new adventure awaits. There is so much potential, even for a fifty-five-year-old man such as I. I am completely confident. I know there will be hardships and frustrations. But I can’t wait. I’m motivated and enthused because something is big happening in my life. I’m stimulated by change and even to a degree by uncertainty because I will now paint the portrait of my own future.

I’ve got to get to bed. Barry will be taking me to the airport. It will be rough to say goodbye to this man who has meant so much to me. Who continues to mean so much to me and has generously opened his home to me and accommodated me during this transition. He has allowed himself to be used by God as an instrument as my life has entered a new dimension. Barry, if you read this, I’m going to miss pool and pitchers of beer, The Big Bang Theory and just talking. I’ll be waiting for you (and Cheilsey) next summer.

I leave tomorrow and arrive on Thursday, November 13. Look for a posting in a couple of days. In the meantime, so long, farewell, aug wiedersehen, good night.

 

One thought on “Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, good night”–thank you, Von Trapp children

  1. So very happy for you Bob, Will miss our get togethers at the “Hare” Take care my friend, and I want an “autographed copy” of next book!

Leave a Reply

