Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“I’ll be there”–thank you, Jackson 5

I’m going out on a limb here. I’m going to embarrass myself in front of everyone. That is, except for those who are acquainted with me. They will just shake their heads knowingly and smile.

A few days ago I posted a blog blurb about the hotel I had reserved along the Tyrrhenian Sea in Rome for my arrival on November 13. When I found the hotel online, I nabbed it. It was dripping with quintessential Italian design and ambience.

A few days later I realized I hadn’t asked the hotel about shuttle accommodations to the airport. The next day I would be flying to Ancona on the Adriatic, near the town where I will be living. The hotel assured me that a shuttle would be ready and that it was complementary. I wiped my brow.

Later that day, I realized that I had also forgotten to verify that the shuttle would be at the airport when I arrived. I wrote back and told them of my arrival date in Rome at Fiumicino (Leonardo da Vinci) Airport. I received the following response:

“We are sorry to tell you that the accommodation has informed us that they will be unable to arrange this for you during your stay.

As they have informed us that they are in Himarë, Albania and not in Rome.”

Once you have stopped laughing, you may continue reading.

Ready? OK.

Yes, I mistakenly reserved a hotel in Himarë, Albania, not Rome, Italy. And rather than looking out over the Tyrrhenian Sea, I would have been looking out over the Adriatic Sea. (Probably to my apartment across the water). How did this happen, you ask? I have no freakin’ idea. I typed the parameters into the website–Rome, Italy and clicked “hotels”. I then populated by price range. Lowest price first, of course (after all, I’m a starving author). I saw this quaint hotel and grabbed it.

I suppose an argument could be made that I was too impulsive, too quick, perhaps didn’t read the website closely. I suppose one could say that.

But you’d be wrong. I’m smarter than that.

Aren’t I? I mean, I’m a writer, a deep thinker. I contemplate. I feel. I calculate. I consider. I’m articulate. I’m smart. Dammit.

But I can’t navigate a discount travel website.

To say that I’m somewhat crestfallen over this new reality would be an understatement.

Nevertheless, I have corrected the mistake and I have found an even BETTER hotel in Rome for only thirteen dollars more than the one in Albania. Unfortunately, I have been unable to click and paste photos of “Villa Rosita” on this posting. However, if you are truly bored, you can Google it. I must admit that I am quite happy with my selection and yes, it is in Rome. I’ll be there, in Rome, Italy.

Albania, isn’t that Dracula’s home?

One thought on “Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“I’ll be there”–thank you, Jackson 5

Leave a Reply

