Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“I live in Oregon, Oregon’s my home. I love the trees, the hills, the places I have roamed”– thank you, Blackhawk County

In a previous posting I mentioned that I have checked out of Oregon emotionally and mentally. While re-reading and editing the post, that statement stabbed me in the heart.

At the risk of sounding arrogant, you will be hard-pressed to find many people who adore this state as much as I do. I bitch about things I don’t like–high unemployment, lousy roads, a constipated legislature, anti-business attitudes. No place is perfect, right? Yet, I am captivated by Oregon.

When I lived in Southern California for eight years, sunbathing, entertaining clients at bigh-end restaurants in Beverly Hills and Newport Beach, I longed for Oregon. I missed the rain and the green. I missed the smell of fresh-cut hay and the change of colors in autumn. I even missed the smell of field burning! (Note to non-residents: field burning occurs in the mid-Willamette Valley in fall when farmers burn off the chaff from their grass seed fields to kill pests and disease.)

Now, after re-reading my words from my previous blog, I’m feeling a twinge. I feel I’m abandoning everything I’ve ever known for the unknown. Everything I love so much, yet take so much for granted is not going to be at my fingertips. Yes, I will be able to Google anything I want. I will be able to Skype with anyone. I will be able to stream videos of any place in Oregon.

But I won’t be there.

Is it a good thing to love so much that it hurts? Is it healthy to worry that those in my life might forget me as they continue on with their lives? Is it smart to change one’s life so late in the game when one should be settling down? …Supposedly?

The song I’ve mentioned in the blog title came to me when I started this posting. I had often wondered if I could find it. Thank God for YouTube. If you’ve never heard it, it’s worth a listen. For my contemporaries who grew up in the 70’s and listened to the “Super 62, KGW”, you might remember it. For those who haven’t, give this song a listen and you will understand when we say that Oregon is a state of mind. This song plaintively expresses what I think of Oregon and how I will miss it.

Oregon is my home. It’s in my blood, my DNA. And I will always come back.

Click the link below, sit back and listen.

4 thoughts on “Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“I live in Oregon, Oregon’s my home. I love the trees, the hills, the places I have roamed”– thank you, Blackhawk County

Leave a Reply

