Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“Money, well get back. I’m all right Jack keep your hands off of my stack”–thank you, Pink Floyd

So, this Kickstarter thing…

I checked it out tonight. I was intrigued when I heard about a man who attracted $50,000 in his efforts to make the best potato salad. I looked at that and thought, “Someone has finally created a website where unfathomable boobs can make money just by being unfathomable boobs”.

I was intrigued because I thought it was something similar to angel investors that provide seed money for a high tech start-up. I thought Kickstarter was something akin to that. Something for people without access to billion dollar investment firms in Palo Alto. For people who aren’t involved in high tech. I thought it was just for them. Then, in checking further, I saw that it’s also available for writers.

So I started thinking…if Mr. Potato Salad can drum up that kind of coin for a bowl of tubers and mayonnaise, wouldn’t I be able to attract money for my next book?

The next book I’ve chosen to write is an historical narrative that would partner with my first book, This is My Lemonade–An Adoption Story. While I’m living in Italy, I intend to travel to Lviv, Ukraine to research my maternal grandfather’s family and to Krakow, Poland to research my maternal grandmother’s family. I hope to write it in such a way that it complements Lemonade and maintains the integrity of the subjects of family, adoption, identity, validation and acceptance.

I’d have to calculate how much it would cost–travel to Ukraine and Poland, housing, food. I would also like to have the book published in Ukrainian and Polish which entails more cost. Then there is the publishing, editing, proofreading, graphics, formatting, ad nauseam. Man, I’m getting frustrated just thinking about it.

But wouldn’t it be great to be able to finance this project through Kickstarter without using my dwindling funds? I have visions of printing the book as a hardback, but would that diminish Lemonade which is paperback? And would Lemonade need to be printed in Ukrainian and Polish so people in those countries could read both books?

I figured that I would promote my progress to those who opt to fund the project. It would allow participants to watch the book take shape and feel more like they are part of it. I would direct them to the blog which would keep them up to date. Maybe even sell a few more copies of Lemonade!

And I would have to think of some type of payback to those who participate. Perhaps a signed book to anyone who donates more than $25 along with recognition in Acknowledgements? Some people don’t offer any payback. Is that kosher?

I am going to pursue this. The project will happen but it would happen sooner with financial support. I wonder how I determine how much I’d need? I want to be realistic; I don’t want to take advantage. But I want to make sure that expenses would be covered. Having published one book gives me some idea of the costs.

It’s kinda scary. I’ve got a figure in mind, but, to me, it sounds enormous. I’m encouraged, but I’ve got to research this more so I know what I’m doing. I don’t want to violate any type of online or Kickstarter policy. And would I feel the pressure of answering to all of the contributors? One of the things that attracts me to writing is being my own boss and not answering to anyone else.

When the pedal hits the metal I have to admit that I’m embarrassed to ask anyone for money for this endeavor. This is a labor of love, just like Lemonade was. I’m writing it for me and my family and for anyone who might be interested in reading it. I want it to touch people. Such an ethic is noble, but not terribly profitable. And I do need to support myself. I’ve developed some very nasty habits that must be maintained–eating, health care, housing.

Guess I’m going to have to follow the advice of Pink Floyd.

“Money, it’s a hit. Don’t give me that do goody-good bullshit.”

<sigh>

 

One thought on “Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy–“Money, well get back. I’m all right Jack keep your hands off of my stack”–thank you, Pink Floyd

  1. Pingback: Pursuing the expatriate life in Italy--"Money, well get back. I'm all right Jack keep your hands off of my stack"--thank you, Pink Floyd

Leave a Reply

