Day 2–Living as an expatriate in Italy

Today is kind of a throwaway. My first responsibility towards this move to Italy revolved around seeing my dentist. I already had the appointment set for a cleaning and I thought it would be good to have them give me the once over so everything is in place before I leave. Turns out that a small filling fell out and must be removed. More money out of my pocket but I prefer to have it done with my dentist than try to explain in my broken Italian what needs to be done. Don’t want the filling inserted into my eardrum.

Besides that, I’m sitting here at Homer Davenport Days at the city park in bucolic, artsy Silverton, Oregon. I will be ensconced here the whole weekend pushing this book, trying to get rid of the last few physical copies remaining. It’s a festive, relaxing atmosphere. Mostly locals today setting up their booths with a handful of looky-loos wandering about. Probably getting a feel for the whole area before coming back to spend oodles of dough tomorrow.

The park is full of mature Douglas firs providing respite from the heat and humidity today and the rest of the weekend. We came here as a family for years when i was a child so this area holds special favor in my heart. It’s located along Silver Creek and there’s a swimming pool for the kiddies and a swimming hole in the park near a small man-made waterfall. Downtown Silverton is a short walk away with it’s shops, cafes and antique stores. This town is my birthplace and it’s wonderful to see how it has evolved over the years. I suppose it’s apropos that my last book signings before leaving for Italy would be here. It’s like I’m saying goodbye from my birthplace. This is where it started, this is where it ends.

Most of this has nothing to do with my future as an expat, but I wasn’t going to write one paragraph about teeth cleaning. That first paragraph does, however, touch upon an important point in this expat game–getting one’s health appointments and issues in line. I’ve got an appointment with my surgeon and next is my general practitioner. With each passing day, I’m checking off responsibilities and finding new ones.

I did realize something very important last night. And I’ve written on this before–I cannot work in Italy until I am a legal resident or have my passport. This begs the question–how will I support myself? Well, perhaps I could find work and get paid under the table. My brother has suggested I contact my aunt’s family since they own a number of businesses. Still, that would require an actual hire. The only way I can get hired in Italy as a non-resident is if I offer something that an Italian cannot offer. In my case, I would assume that would be English fluency.

Of course, my fluency in Italian is lacking so there’s always that barrier. Either way, I’m still not going to worry about employment. Truthfully, for the first few months in Italy I believe I will be borderline obsessed with getting the DNA tests done so I can get my Italian passport. Obviously, I will be looking for work, too. These two issues will be my focus until they are resolved.

Leave a Reply

