After radio, then what?

I’ve had my last radio interview. At least, as far as I know. I recently interviewed with KXL, the top talk radio station in Portland. A few days later I was interviewed by K103FM, one of the top stations in Portland. The latter is part of a media company and told me that my interview would air over a total of four stations–possibly more than once. I have to admit, it’s probably the best interview I’ve done so far.

Now, I’m trying to figure out what’s next. Do I pursue TV? I’ve tried to get a toehold and it’s not easy. Of course not. TV has greater impact. Video resonates more than just audio. As a result, TV ad rates are much higher and the demand to be on TV is much greater. Ergo, the competition to get onto TV is all the heavier.

I still have a few cards up my sleeve to pursue. It seems that, just when I’ve run out of hands to play, another card is dealt that changes the game. Or at least gives me another chance. And I have to play each card as intelligently as possible. This whole overall game is fascinating and a true learning experience. The on-air radio personality at K103FM gave me the number of a woman who apparently is quite successful in helping nascent (and not-so-nascent) writers get into places where they book can achieve more success. I’ve sent her an email requesting a meeting after Christmas. I wonder how much her service costs??

I do wish that I could see more results. I get tired of such meager outcomes. Sometimes there’s NO outcome. But I know I’m swimming upstream. The benefit of swimming upstream is that it makes my arms stronger. When I emerge, my arms will be huge, strong enough to fight to the next level, strong enough to hold the substantial success that awaits me.

Even though my radio interviews have resulted in minuscule sales, I have, nevertheless, sharpened my skills. I’ve learned to be comfortable being interviewed. I’ve learned to be comfortable being live on air. I’ve learned to be comfortable thinking on my toes and replying to unexpected questions articulately. Indeed, at least 3-4 of the radio personalities who have interviewed me have remarked surprisingly and complimentarily at my interviewing abilities.  Especially for such a neophyte.

I have to admit that I’m surprised. I expected to find myself babbling like a nincompoop. But I didn’t. I think that comes from three decades in the professional world, speaking in front of people, giving presentations. When I know my topic, I’m confident. And I know this topic–it’s my life. No one knows it better than I do. Hmm, what about my next topic???

I’ve had a number of people marvel at how easily I have gotten these radio interviews. It’s surprisingly easy since most talk radio shows are looking for interesting stories. I have been doubly blessed to have a good friend with contacts in media who helped open doors for me. Nevertheless, other doors I had to open on my own.

So it seems I’ve picked the low-hanging fruit. I’ve done radio and it’s time to move to the next level. As I said, TV seems to be the obvious choice, but I have to consider that there might be other options that will come first. It’s going to be a matter of turning over stones and finding what’s underneath. Each step, no matter how small, is a step forward. Indeed, each step backward is a step forward because it shows me what not to do.  And if I do get a TV interview, will I crumble?  Will I be intimidated by that camera?  I’ve always been self-conscious being photographed or videotaped.  I think I look and act like a dork.  Guess this is another mountain to climb.

In a few days I hop a plane for Europe–Portland/Amsterdam/Rome. Ten hours to Amsterdam, TWELVE hour layover–perhaps I’ll take the train into town and hit the museums–Van Gogh and Rembrandt. Depends on how tired I’ll be. Then it will be two and a half hours to Rome where I will spend the night, wake up and hop onto a bus for a two and a half hour ride to Ascoli Piceno. I’m going to be the Vegetable of the Day. It’s going to be a lot of traveling. I hope to be able to get SOME writing in for my next book during all this travel. I’m already getting requests for another book which is so gratifying.

I know I’m on the right track with this writing thing, even if I have to go back to the normal work world at some point. And you know? I can’t wait to start writing again. I really hope that I can pull a humor book out of my hat. Something whimsical, cynical. A commentary on the craziness of American society incorporating all the new aspects of society that have been embraced, no matter how ludicrous. Perhaps I can use this trip to do a comparison of America to Italy. So many options. I like that.

I will be attempting to make submissions to this blog each day I’m in Europe. They will include musings about my experiences, my family and my observations of our relationships. I wish I could figure out how to get video and/or photos on here, especially for those who don’t have access to my Facebook page. These, in addition to the culture and colorful extravagance of the Italian people are my goals. Of course, there will be ample insecure ramblings about my relationships.  Grab a snifter of brandy and stay tuned.  Same bat-time. Same bat-channel.

Leave a Reply

