Five more days…

Five more days. Five more days. It will get here. It WILL get here.

On December 19 I leave for Europe to spend Christmas with my family in Italy. This will be the first time since 2006 that I have spent Christmas with them. To say I’m antsy would be an understatement. All I can think of is being with them, hearing the lyrical fall of the Italian language, feeling their embrace.

I can’t wait to wander through the piazza in Ascoli Piceno. Wrapped in an overcoat with a scarf, gloves and a cap, I will once again traverse the travertine piazza built nearly 3000 years ago. I will smile at the beauty of a few simple strands of Christmas lights strung across the square while Christmas carols play over the loudspeaker. I will once again visit my favorite cafe for pastries and a delectable espresso. I will savor and savor again.

Christmas will be magical. I have DVDs of my uncle’s visit with my father two months before my father’s death. This will be one of two surprises for my uncle. The other will remain a secret since my cousins know English and might read this blog posting. Everyone will have to wait until Christmas!

But Christmas will be magical–Norman Rockwell with an Italian accent. There will be more food than one can imagine. More pastries than one’s heart can desire. There will be singing and laughter and the family will be together the whole time sharing, enjoying, celebrating. I used to have that all the time. I miss it.

And I will be doing what I can in the few days I have there to look for work and discuss translation of my book into Italian. It will be a full journey before I travel up to Paris to ring in 2014. I can’t wait. In the past month I’ve had two surgeries, two crowns replaced and I’ve buried my father. I think I deserve to be spoiled a bit. Can I get an “Amen!”?

Five more days…

5 thoughts on “Five more days…

  1. AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Merry Christmas, Bob! Enjoy your “homeland” you so so so so deserve it. Will be thinking of you, Marilyn Perkett

  2. Pingback: Christmas in Ascoli Piceno | goodthingsfromitaly

Leave a Reply

