“Makin’ friends for the world to see”, Elton John 1971

I would be remiss without mentioning the impact of friends on this journey of mine. Virtually everyone I know is hugely supportive of my book journey, several of whom are actually working to help me be successful. I have two incredible friends from high school who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in helping with photography, book cover, the book launch, editing, etc. They know who they are and they know that I am humbled to silence by their generosity and love.

I have another beautiful friend in Southern California who is going to recommend me to a friend of hers who is involved in the adoption world. She works for the rights of adoptees to gain access to their birth records (Oregonians passed a law several years ago allowing this). This woman has also produced a couple of adoption documentaries.

This just scratches the surface. But it underscores the importance of our relationships. They are so crucial; the relationships I have (and their number is legion) bless me so much that I can’t even articulate it. I can’t say it loud enough, don’t let go of your friendships. There are so many people waiting to bless your life–and waiting for you to bless theirs. Take that step. Be bold. Be resilient. Not all will work out, but those that do will render the others irrelevant as you savor what you have.

Leave a Reply

